AT LAST! Easy and quick alternatives to all your favorite carb-delicious breakfast foods!!!

So, last night I decided to try making some Paleo Plantain “Bread” and Paleo Plantain Muffins. Since cutting bread, pasta, rice and other simple carbs out of my diet I have not particularly struggled with not having bread, but when I saw these recipes, I figured it may be a good alternative every now and then. The bread turned out DELICIOUS. This morning I actually had 3 squares (I cut them into 1/16ths) with a little bit of natural peanut butter on top. And OH MY GOSH, I did not realize how much I missed having my peanut butter toast! Alone it tastes like nothing really (or like a paleo bread that I once bought from Whole Foods), but with the natural peanut butter on top it tasted almost EXACTLY like I was eating the peanut butter toast I once ate for breakfast! I did not honestly expect it to taste as delightful as it did, but I can assure you I will be making this bread at least once a week! 
As for the muffins, mine did not come out as well as I expected but this is probably due to the fact that I did not add any sweetener like the recipe and I also only added a few raspberries and strawberries (the recipe actually called for 2-2 1/2 cups of blueberries or it said you could add in things like chocolate chips and nuts and such). I definitely think if I added more fruit or dark chocolate chips and nuts, they would be even more delightful! I recommend not skimping on those things. All in all, they still came out okay and with a little honey or peanut butter spread on top, they were still quite tasty! My 2-year-old nephew sure seemed to enjoy them plain!
I am so excited about all of the things I found that I can do with plantains that I never knew before! I can now enjoy some of those delicious carb-filled breakfast indulgences without the guilt and the disgusting bloated feeling afterwards. I don’t know about any of you, but growing up, breakfast was always my favorite meal and I loved everything from pancakes to crepes to Muffins and so forth. And honestly, the one thing I have struggled with lately was becoming bored with breakfast and unable to find breakfast alternatives that were easy and quick in the morning. Now, I am able to change up my boring breakfast routine with this variety of delicious choices! And the best part is, most of them only require a few ingredients (none that are difficult and you wouldn’t have on hand) and can be made in one sitting, but enjoyed for a few days! Here are the pictures from last night and this morning, along with the recipes (and other plantain recipes I found)!

image

Paleo Plantain “Bread”

image

Paleo Plantain Strawberry & Raspberry Muffins (instead of blueberry)

Paleo Plantain “Bread”
http://purelytwins.com/2013/10/01/grain-free-paleo-gluten-free-plantain-bread/

Paleo blueberry muffins
http://www.thepaleomom.com/2013/07/nut-free-coconut-free-paleo-blueberry-muffins.html

Paleo Crepes
http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/09/paleo-crepes-with-nutella.html

Paleo Plantain Pancakes
http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/09/perfect-paleo-pancakes.html

Plantain Tortillas
http://zenbellycatering.com/2013/08/17/plantain-tortillas/

Plantain Crackers
http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/09/plantain-crackers-nut-free-egg-free.html

I CANNOT wait to try all of these!!!

Happy Wednesday!!

Leave a Reply

