Recent Vacays and Detox! Benefits of Chai Tea and Lemon Water!

Good morning everyone!

I know it has been a week or so since I have posted, but I have been on yet another–and probably my last–beach trip for the summer. It feels like this past month has FLOWN by because I LITERALLY have either been on a trip, or have had so many things going on every weekend since I finished finals. Between two beach trips, a camping trip, Bayou Country Superfest, and my friend’s wedding, I am exhausted, broke, and ready for a few weeks of laying low. Not to mention, I am so excited to not be surrounded by bad food and alcohol. Fortunately, I have come to that point in my journey of healthy living that I have been able to maintain my clean eating habits throughout the majority of the chaos. Even on my vacations, I have managed to continually avoid fatty foods and bring my own clean food and alcoholic beverages. However, this most recent trip, I did slip up and indulge in a couple of guilty pleasures (they had ice cream at the campground and dangit I just wanted that one strawberry/mango margarita!) Of course I felt horrible after each time. The few times I did this though, I did so in moderation–and definitely made sure to drink plenty of lemon water and eat lots of cleansing fruits (such as apples, berries, etc.) Also, even though I did not necessarily eat that many terrible things, I certainly found that I ate A LOT of food. Definitely A LOT MORE than I do on a normal day, which led me to feeling disgusting once I got home. Thus, I am now spending the day detoxing and flushing all of the crap out of me! Anyway, now that I have rambled on long enough, the point of the story is that every week I have been doing extremely well with keeping my body clean and feeling great, and I am excited that for at least a few weeks (that I know of) I will not have to have that be interrupted by any big events or vacays! 

Some of the things I drank as cleaner alternatives:

  • Water and Vodka, Pure Lemonade Crystal Light packets (with stevia)–also added some strawberries and/or blueberries to make it interesting. There are also other flavors available, and you could also use things like Mio.
  • Water and Vodka with Lemon, Strawberries and Blueberries–SO REFRESHING AND DELICIOUS! Could not believe that I could NOT taste the vodka at all! I hate the taste of alcohol! When I ran out of lemons, I used lime and it was just as delicious!
  • Soda Water, Vodka, a hint of Cranberry Juice, and fresh lime juice.

As soon as I got back yesterday, I went straight to Trader Joe’s to get food to prep for the week.  It’s funny how as soon as you walk into Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods, you get this automatic feeling of rejuvenation and energy! This sense of “everyone here shares a common interest in health.” I love it :] 

Anyway, I have been wanting to get on the herbal tea wagon for a while now, but I have never been a tea drinker–cold or hot (yes, living in Louisiana this is a cardinal sin). I’ve read about the endless benefits of drinking herbal tea, but I just couldn’t force myself to do it. Well, I FINALLY got the courage to buy a pack of the Chai Tea from Trader Joe’s to try. Guess what?! It’s ACTUALLY pretty good! Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t like heaven in my mouth the first sip, but it wasn’t terrible. And honestly, the more I have drank of it, the more it has grown on me. This is such a great way to start off your day, or to end it by sipping on a cup while curled up in your PJs, watching TV a night. Click here for Benefits of Chai Tea!

I also made it an oath to start my morning off with a glass of warm lemon water before I have any breakfast. Of course I know the benefits of lemon water in general and I drink it like crazy; and I had heard before about drinking warm lemon water first thing in the morning, but never took the time to try it. After reading about the various benefits, I felt like I had no choice but to make it a part of my morning routine. Here are some benefits of lemon water in general and warm lemon water in the morning. If you google “Benefits of drinking lemon water”, there are other sites that give lists of added benefits! Just go ahead and check it out for yourself!!

With that said, I started this morning off with a glass of warm lemon water. Then, on my way to work, I ate 1/2 of a banana with 1 teaspoon of Trader Joe’s Crunchy Almond Butter. Once I got to work, I started sipping on my Trader Joe’s Chai Tea (I added a tiny bit of almond milk and a little bit of honey to sweeten it–I have to work my way in). 

Here’s what I brought for the rest of the work day:

  • Mid-morning snack–Container of raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries.
  • Lunch: Homemade Romaine Salad with Lite Italian Dressing
  • Afternoon/Pre-workout Snack: Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar (Ingredients: Dates, Peanuts, and Salt)

I’m going to go to spin class after work, and then I’m not quite sure what will be for supper yet. But, if it’s something special I’ll be sure to post pics!

Have a great Monday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

